29 ~ 365: Stacks of Red for Valentine’s

If you saw my post from day 27, you know I’m working on a project for a gallery show, ‘Red’, opening in February.  I’ve made another bowl to replace the one that failed, which is in the kiln now.  It’s what I really want to turn in, so hopefully I’ve compensated for the reasons of failure and it’ll behave in the kiln turning out the way I want this time.  I almost always have a ‘Plan B’ for gallery shows so today’s photo is about Plan B.  It’s a stack of 1″ squares cut, cleaned and ready to be arranged into a sushi plate.

After arranging it a couple times, this is the design I’m keeping.  I have smaller squares of silver dichroic (a metallic coating on glass) that I’ll arrange prior to firing, then slump it into a sushi plate mold.

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 29, 2010 at 4:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Linda! I like it!

  2. Posted January 29, 2010 at 9:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I like it, too, Linda! The color red is the best. (So is turquoise and peacock blue – BE needs a peacock blue.) 🙂

  3. Sue Degnan
    Posted January 30, 2010 at 8:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    Can’t wait to see the finished product, Linda!

  4. Posted January 30, 2010 at 8:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks my friends, I’ve been wanting to do bargello style work again, another return to an old series. I’ve scattered silver dicro squares into it & will fire tonight & post a photo when it’s done.

Leave a Reply

