35 ~ 365: Pink Hearts

Today’s photos were all about my glasswork because I need to photo before I can wrap up & ship or store.  I really need more space to adequately photograph glass!  Thought if I posted this photo I might find help…for a better or easier way of doing this.  In my studio, with lights off I place the glass on a sketch pad (the cleanest, whitest background I have that doesn’t need to be ironed).  In Photoshop I  lighten it by boosting the exposure.  Then, using selective color I get rid of all the black shadows on my white background.  Cropping comes next with a final dose of ‘cloning’ where I eliminate any distractions not intended to be in the shot.  Sometimes that’s enough and sometimes I go back in and blend out any graining (as in the above shot).

Here is the original shot without doing anything to it.  I have a photo tent and don’t think my photos turn out any better when I use it.  Usually I can coax a decent image using this process, especially if it’s a lighter, summer day & I use a large sketch pad.  Just wish it didn’t take so much time for each photo!

I think one of the reasons I’m having so much FUN with the 365 project photography is because it’s just fun and doesn’t have to be perfect or represent my work to anyone.

When the economy picks back up I can go back to hiring a pro that knows what she’s doing!

3 Comments

  1. Posted February 5, 2010 at 6:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    I like it!

  2. Posted February 5, 2010 at 6:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Try setting up outside to take your shots. You might prefer an overcast day to reduce glare and reflection off the glass or try different times of day for the location you set up at. Or set up next to a window for some natural light coming in. I like your hearts – so cute!

  3. Posted February 6, 2010 at 7:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks Toni, great suggestions!

Leave a Reply

